Core competencies

Core competencies

Here you can find more details on the core competency areas. They are relevant to everyone that works or wants to work in the industry.  
Regardless of which sector you work in, or hope to in the future, you'll need to develop your skills and knowledge in our six core competency areas.

These are Business, Environment, Health and safety, Leadership, People and Technical. 

You can find out more about each of the core competencies below.

Our Capability Framework

Use our graphic to find out more about the sector-specific competencies and behaviours in our framework.

Business competencies
Financial management and the quality and control of produce are both essential competency areas in terms of business knowledge and skills.
Environment competencies
Environment competencies centre on protecting the health of animals and humans, managing waste, and ensuring land use is sustainable.
Health and Safety competencies
Maintaining a safe and healthy working environment and the wellbeing of colleagues and are all key competency areas regarding Health and Safety.
Leadership competencies
Leadership competencies concern the motivation of a productive workforce and maintaining good practice across the team.
People competencies
Recruitment and retention alongside career development are all key competency areas regarding people.
Technical operations competencies
Technical operations cover the understanding needed to use technology and machinery to improve the business's productivity.