Sector-specific competencies

Sector-specific competencies

Here you can find more detail on the competencies you need in your sector. They're called sector-specific as they're relevant to the sector you're working in or want to work in. 
Each sector within agriculture and horticulture has a different set of competencies to reflect the variety of tasks and challenges they face.

These specialist areas are Arable, Horticulture, Livestock and Poultry.

You can find out more about each of these four sector-specific competency areas below.

Our Capability Framework

Use our graphic to find out more about the core competencies and behaviours in our framework.

Arable competencies
Plant health and crop production, soil management, sustainability, the environment, and harvesting are all key specialisms for arable growers.
Horticulture competencies
Fruit and crop production, plant health, soil management, sustainability, the environment and harvesting are all key specialisms in horticulture.
Livestock competencies
The welfare and nutrition of livestock and the handling of their waste are all key specialisms for those working with livestock.
Poultry competencies
Bird welfare and nutrition, as well as the management of their waste, are key specialisms for those working with poultry.